MARK KNOPFLER: Next Album Is...

M. Knopfler

Mark Knopfler has announced the title and release date for his new album.

Down the Road Wherever, his ninth studio disc, will be out on November 16th on his own British Grove label via Blue Note Records here in the U.S.

He says the album title is “is a line from 'One Song at a Time.' I remember my pal Chet Atkins once saying that he picked his way out of poverty one song at a time, and it just stuck in my mind. You get to an age where you’ve written quite a few songs. But Down the Road Wherever seems to be appropriate for me just because it's what I've always done. I've always tried to make a record and also to keep my own geography happening in the songs.”

The album contains 14 songs inspired by a wide range of subjects, including his “early days with Dire Straits, a stray football fan lost in a strange town, the compulsion of a musician hitching home through the snow, and a man out of time in his local greasy spoon.” The first single, out now, is “Good on You Son.”

Mark Knopfler "Good on You Son."

M. Knopfler new song
Knopfler album

Down the Road Wherever will be available in numerous configurations, including vinyl with one bonus track. The deluxe CD has two bonus tracks, and the box set contains a load of extras, including four bonus tracks and album artwork, and a 12-inch guitar tablature of a selected song. 

Down the Road Wherever track list:

  1. “Trapper Man”
  2. “Back on the Dance Floor”
  3. “Nobody’s Child”
  4. "Just a Boy Away From Home”
  5. “When You Leave”
  6. “Good on You Son”
  7. “My Bacon Roll”
  8. “Nobody Does That”
  9. “Drovers’ Road”
  10. “One Song at a Time”
  11. “Floating Away”
  12. “Slow Learner”
  13. “Heavy Up”
  14. “Matchstick Man”

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content