PINK FLOYD: Roundhouse Redux

Nick's new group

Nick Mason's Saucerful of Secrets -- the Pink Floyd drummer's new group devoted to playing the early music of his former band -- played a venue that looms large in his personal history Monday night.

Nearly 52 years ago, Pink Floyd opened The Roundhouse in London, sharing the bill with The Soft Machine in what was billed as an "All Night Rave" to launch the new underground paper International Times. The show was the Floyd's first in front of a large crowd and helped usher Britain into the psychedelic era.

It was a fitting place for Saucerful of Secrets to play, considering its mission statement, which Mason recently explained to us.

Ex-Pink Floyd drummer Nick Mason on the mission of Saucerful of Secrets.:

Nick Mason

Sticking to that theme, Mason joked to the crowd after the first two songs, “As you know now, we are not the Australian Rogers Waters. Nor are we the Danish David Gilmours.” He did tell them that Saucerful of Secrets came about only after he had “finally given up waiting for that phone call from Roger or David."

Referring to the show over a half century ago, he called The Roundhouse an "important place" in his history and said he was "thrilled to be back."

Here's the setlist from the 90-minute show:

  1. Interstellar Overdrive
  2. Astronomy Domine
  3. Lucifer Sam
  4. Fearless
  5. Obscured by Clouds
  6. When You're In
  7. Arnold Layne
  8. Vegetable Man
  9. If (Medley with Atom Heart Mother)
  10. The Nile Song
  11. Green Is the Colour
  12. Let There Be More Light
  13. Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun
  14. See Emily Play
  15. Bike
  16. One of These Days


  1. A Saucerful of Secrets
  2. Point Me at the Sky

After the show, Saucerful of Secrets announced five additional British shows next April and May, including two more at The Roundhouse.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content