ERIC CLAPTON: Lay Down Santa


Eric Clapton's new album is out today.

Happy Xmas mixes standards, lesser-known songs and one new original called "For Love on Christmas Day."

Talking about the collection, Clapton says, "I had in my head that these holiday songs could be done with a slight blues tinge and I started to figure out how to play the blues lines in between the vocals. The one that became the foundational style is ‘Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas'.”

Clapton also drew the album cover -- a simple caricature of Santa Claus.

A deluxe edition will include pop-up art, an ornament, a seven-inch picture disc and more.

Eric Clapton is asked about a favorite Christmas memory:

Clapton on Christmas album

Happy Xmas track list:

  1. White Christmas
  2. Away in a Manger (Once in Royal David’s City)
  3. For Love on Christmas Day
  4. Everyday Will Be Like a Holiday
  5. Christmas Tears
  6. Home for the Holidays
  7. Jingle Bells (in memory of Avicii)
  8. Christmas in My Hometown
  9. It’s Christmas
  10. Sentimental Moments
  11. Lonesome Christmas
  12. Silent Night
  13. Merry Christmas Baby
  14. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content