Rock Hall: Benetar Leads and Motorhead Revision

For the second time in three years, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's Nominating Committee has revised a decision on who exactly it is nominating.

The lineup of Motorhead named in last week announcement only included Lemmy,Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor and"Fast" Eddie Clarke. After complaints from several quarters, however, that selection has been reconsidered. Drummer Mikkey Dee and guitarist Phil Campbell are now included on the ballot.

Campbell joined Motorhead in 1984 and played on 16 studio albums. Dee, who is now in the Scorpions, replaced Taylor in 1992 and, like Campbell, remained in the lineup until Lemmy's death in 2015.

This kind of rethink has happened before. In 2017, after the The Moody Blues were nominated,Steve Van Zandt lobbied successfully for the inclusion of original member Denny Laine. On the other hand, KISS was unable to persuade the Hall to include all of the band's members, and only the original four --Gene Simmons, Paul Stanley,Ace Frehley and Peter Criss-- were honored.

The tally for this year's Fan Voteafter one week has Pat Benatar leading with just under 160,000 votes followed by The Doobie Brothers with 142,000 votes and Soundgarden with 135,000.

With 1.5-million votes cast, the rest of the list is as follows:

3) Depeche Mode

4) Judas Priest

5) Dave Matthews Band

6) Whitney Houston

7) Motörhead

8) Nine Inch Nails

9) Thin Lizzy

10) Todd Rundgren

11) The Notorious B.I.G.

12) T. Rex

13) Kraftwerk

14) Rufus featuring Chaka Khan

15) MC5

Todd Rundgren, who came in third in last year's Fan Vote but wasn't nominated, posted a warning onFacebook: "Google is managing the voting process this year, they may be vulnerable to data mining."

Voting at RockHall.comis open until January 10th, followed shortly thereafter by the announcement of the Class of 2020.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content