The third time was the charm for Yes as the band will go into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame at the induction ceremony this Friday at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York.

Eligible since 1994, Yes finally got enough votes on its third nomination, which, sadly is too late for founding member and bassist Chris Squire who died from cancer in 2015. The delay in being nominated and inducted is something that doesn't sit too well with former keyboardist Rick Wakeman who threatened to boycott the ceremony after he thought Squire wasn't being recognized. He has since changed his mind once he realized that was not the case.

In addition to Wakeman and Squire, the Hall is also recognizing former singer Jon Anderson, former drummer Bill Bruford, former guitarist Trevor Rabin, former keyboardist Tony Kaye, drummer Alan White and guitarist Steve Howe, who agrees with Wakeman.

Inducting Yes will be Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson of Rush.

Also being inducted are Joan Baez, Journey, Pearl Jam, Tupac Shakur, Nile Rodgers and ELO.

Chip Nelson

Chip Nelson

Want to know more about Chip Nelson? Get their official bio, social pages & articles on 96.1 The Rocket! Read more


Content Goes Here