ROCK HALL PREVIEW: Electric Light Orchestra

he Electric Light Orchestra will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame on Friday night. The group from Birmingham, England, was elected the first time it was nominated, two decades after becoming eligible for consideration.

ELO has had many members in its large lineups, but the Hall is only recognizing four: Roy Wood, Jeff Lynne, drummer Bev Bevan and keyboard player Richard Tandy. Lynne, Bevan and Tandy were long-serving members, but Wood -- who originally conceived of the classical-rock ensemble as an offshoot of The Move -- left after the group's first album was released in 1971.

Lynne and Tandy, who still play together, will be at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York on Friday along with Wood. Bevan, who hasn't spoken to Lynne except through lawyers in 30 years, is on tour in the UK and will not attend. ELO will be inducted by George Harrison's son, Dhani [pr: Danny]. Lynne and Tom Petty inducted George Harrison in 2004.

Joining ELO in the Class of 2017 are Joan Baez, Yes, Pearl Jam, Journey, Nile Rodgers and the late Tupac Shakur.

Chip Nelson

Chip Nelson

Want to know more about Chip Nelson? Get their official bio, social pages & articles on 96.1 The Rocket! Read more


Content Goes Here