NFL Commish COULD reverse that blown call, but...

NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell DOES have the power to turn back time and either change the outcome of the Rams / Saints game, or reschedule it, either from the beginning or from the point of the botched call at the end of the game.  But there's basically a 0% chance of that happening.

There is an obscure rule on the books that would give NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell the power to change the outcome of the Rams / Saints game and send New Orleans to the Super Bowl, over the botched pass interference call.

Rule 17, Section 2, Article 1 says:  "The Commissioner has the sole authority to investigate and take . . . corrective measures . . . [if any] calamity occurs in an NFL game, which the Commissioner deems so extraordinarily unfair or outside the accepted tactics . . . that such action has a major effect on the result of the game."

Article 3 adds, "The Commissioner's powers include:  The reversal of a game's result, or the rescheduling of a game, either from the beginning, or from the point at which the extraordinary act occurred."

Of course, this isn't happening, even though Saints coach Sean Payton says the officials told him they blew the call . . . and Rams defender Nickell Robey-Coleman admitted he committed pass interference because he was beaten on the play.

Saints fans are still FUMING about the no-call, including Harry Connick, Jr., who called the officiating "disgraceful," and said he's so sickened that he's boycotting the Super Bowl.

 
 
Steve Powers

Steve Powers

Want to know more about Steve Powers? Get his official bio, social pages, and blog posts. Read more

title

Content Goes Here